New Trustees join Board


Four new and three returning members have been appointed to the 2016–17 Board of Trustees.

New members

Luann Bangsund ’74, ’79, who recently retired as a professor of finance and accounting at the Keck Graduate Institute, is president-elect of the Redlands Alumni Association Board of Directors; she helped establish the Alumni Admissions Program and served on the Young Alumni and the 75th Anniversary committees. She received the Ray Whitmus Young Alumni Award in 1985 and an Alumni Career Achievement award in 1994. Her U of R credentials include a B.A. in art history and a master’s from the School of Education. She also holds an MBA in finance from UCLA and a Ph.D. in management from Claremont Graduate University.

Christopher Bonney ’87 is senior vice president/principal of Lee & Associates in the City of Industry, where he specializes in the sale and leasing of industrial and office properties in the San Gabriel Valley. While a Redlands student (a psychology major), Bonney was involved in the Associated Students, Kappa Sigma Sigma and the Maroon & Grey Ambassadors. He also studied in Salzburg.

Mindy Harris is senior vice president, general counsel, compliance officer and corporate secretary for Nordstrom fsb, the banking subsidiary of Nordstrom. She has more than 30 years of experience advising and representing financial institutions, bank servicing organizations and related entities as in-house legal counsel. Her bachelor’s degree (Phi Beta Kappa) and J.D. are from
the University of Denver.

Elbra Wedgeworth ’78 is the chief government and community relations officer of the Denver Health and Hospital Authority. She previously served as a Denver City Council member and, in 2015, received Downtown Denver Partnership Honorary Partner recognition in addition to the Denver Business Journal’s Legacy Award for her contributions to local business and the community. In 2014, the Elbra M. Wedgeworth Municipal Building was dedicated in her honor. At Redlands, she earned a bachelor’s degree in sociology/anthropology.

Returning members

Larry Burgess ’67, who is currently first-vice chairperson of the Board of Trustees, is the former director of the A.K. Smiley Public Library in Redlands, as well as former president of the Historical Society of Southern California. A prolific writer, Burgess has authored many articles and books, including With Unbounded Confidence—A History of the University of Redlands. In 1981, Burgess served on the Board as president of the Alumni Board of Directors and chaired the 75th Anniversary Celebration. The University honored him with the 75th Anniversary Medal and Centennial Award. In addition to a B.A. from Redlands, he holds a Ph.D. in history from Claremont Graduate University.

Becky Campbell Garnett ’69, the recipient of the University’s “R” Award and Centennial Award, is currently an independent sales associate with Worth New York; previously, she worked with Transamerica Investment Counselors and Xerox Corporation. She is active in the Pasadena Guild of the Children’s Hospital. Campbell Garnett also served as a member of the University’s National Campaign Committee for the Centennial Campaign and assisted with the effort to enter a float in the 2007 Tournament of Roses Parade. She holds a bachelor’s degree in economics from University of Redlands.

Darren S. Rose ’91, who is currently chair of the Board’s Finance Commitee, is president of Rose & Tuck, a consulting firm for higher education and nonprofit clients. After earning a B.S. in mathematics and computer science from Redlands, he worked at Raytheon Services Nevada. He then returned to the University, holding positions including director of alumni and development information services, Management Information Systems (MIS) manager of business and finance and senior project manager for the university relations division’s computer conversion. In 2003, he was the recipient of the University’s “R” Award. He has served as president of the Alumni Association and volunteer for the Campaign for the Sciences, Redlands Fund Leadership and Centennial Celebration committees.


About Author